Doug Opel


Soul Settings: Triptych 1

for fl (doubling picc), ob, b-fl cl (doubling bass cl), vln and vc with spoken word

Written: 2010
Duration: 11:00
Instrumentation: fl (doubling picc), ob, b-fl cl (doubling bass cl), vln and vc with spoken word
Commissioned By: The Definiens Project as part of the Composer Commission Competition (C3)

View Score

Program Notes

soul settings: triptych 1 is one third of an experiment exploring the idea of deriving multiple forms from one large structure. Six companion poems selected from Sin Eater by William Reichard are set spoken-word style to music in a manner that accounts not only for one 6 movement piece, but also for two shorter, 3 movement pieces that share an obvious parallel relationship:

soul settings
1. the soul in paradise (I)
2. the soul in paradise (II)
3. the soul in limbo
4. the soul in purgatory
5. the soul in hell (I)
6. the soul in hell (II)                                                                      

is divided to create:

soul settings: triptych 1
1.1 the soul in paradise (I)
2.3 the soul in limbo
3.6 the soul in hell (II)

- AND -

soul settings: triptych 2
1.2 the soul in paradise (II)
2.4 the soul in purgatory
3.5 the soul in hell (I)

soul settings: triptych 1 was commissioned by The Definiens Project and premiered at the Fresno New Music Festival on November 6th, 2010.